Posted by: NoCtrlZ | 2011/02/08

Thumbprints

These thumbprints are filled with Strawberry and Gooseberry Jam, which I buy from Gratton & Oldridge, who attend the Exeter Farmer’s market. It’s an award winning, high fruit jam. It’s absolutely delicious. You can see the real strawberry pieces in the photo!

I’d never made Thumbprints before, and this recipe, taken from Dorie Greenspan’s: Baking from My Home to Yours, is absolutely beautiful. (If you don’t own the book already, I really recommend buying it. It’s fantastic!) This recipe was baked on March 9th 2010 for Tuesday’s With Dorie. The recipe can therefore be found on Ugly Food for an Ugly Dude’s blog. I don’t really want to reprint the recipe here because the book really should be bought!

These cookies are made from ground hazelnuts and the flavour is an absolute delight, like nothing I’ve ever tasted before actually. They went down a storm, and everyone seemed to love them. Next time I think I need to make sure I make the balls of cookie dough completely spherical so I end up with a perfectly round cookie. I think I also need to make the hole for the jam wider, to fit more in!

Storage: These may be kept in an air-tight container for 3 days, or frozen for 2 months.

Leave a Reply

Categories

